Friday, December 08, 2006

Darren McFadden Wins Doak Walker Award

Arkansas Razorback all-purpose back Darren McFadden was selected as the nation's top running back by receiving the Doak Walker award. McFadden is also one of three finalists for the Heisman Trophy, along with Troy Smith of Ohio State and Brady Quinn of Notre Dame.

McFadden rushed for 1,558 yards and scored 16 touchdowns against some very tough SEC defenses. In Arkansas' "Wildcat Formation", McFadden lined up in the quarterback position and was 6-8 passing with two TDs. He also returned a kickoff 92 yards for a TD.

McFadden was also chosen as SEC Offensive Player of the Year and will face the defense of the Wisconsin Badgers on January 1 in the Capital One Bowl in Orlando, Florida.

No comments: